Type 2 Trust Me I'm a Doctor programme - omega 3 fish supplements

carina62

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
miserable weather, rude and bad mannered people
Did anyone watch this the other week where they did the study on supplements for Omega 3? The results came out very well for the group taking the supplements. Does anyone on here take these? Also as a diabetic which are the best supplements to take as there are so many and could get expensive, I just want to know the essential ones for T2's. Thanks

D

Deleted member 371625

Did anyone watch this the other week where they did the study on supplements for Omega 3? The results came out very well for the group taking the supplements. Does anyone on here take these? Also as a diabetic which are the best supplements to take as there are so many and could get expensive, I just want to know the essential ones for T2's. Thanks
Supplements probably not necessary if you eat oily fish a couple of times a week, for example mackerel, salmon, sardines, kippers, tuna etc. I'm not generally a big fan of government dietary advice, but this one seems pretty good.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: carina62 and Prem51

daisyduck

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
The only supplement I take is a multivitamin. Just Boots own brand. Not because I feel I need it but as a "just in case" I'm missing anything on LCHF :)

Reactions: carina62

Jo123

I had a quite a few blood tests a few months apart and as a little experiment I stopped taking my (expensive) omega 3 fish oil capsules. My first blood test I was taking them and eating oily fish twice a week, my hdl, ldl and trigs were good.
So then I stopped taking my fish oil capsules and just eat the oily fish twice a week, my next blood test the fats were not as good, trigs up, hdl down and ldl up. So I started taking my fish capsules again, next test everything returned to the original better levels.