Metformin and alcohol

gluc

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I still drink few bottles every other night I'm on 1000 ml a day, Dr never said to me to stop drinking think drug company's just like to cover themselves

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

Reactions: 2 people

agnostic

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I have been taking 2 Metformin SR tablets of 500 mg daily. I also drink 2 large pegs (60ml each) of Scotch every evening at dinner (on Sundays, Scotch at lunch and dinner). I have been doing this for a couple of years now. My blood sugar is good, my liver is good and most importantly, I feel good. Cheers !!

Freezinfeet

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I usually don't drink only on very odd occasion, every 4 to 6 months. I'm type 2 on SR met, diagnosis Oct 1000mg so far. Prior to being diagnosed I stopped enjoying alcohol for years as I felt really ill for the best part of a week, I put it down to age and not being able to handle hang overs! Since starting medication I have had a drink, I am partial to a bombay sapphire and soda on a very odd occasion. Much to my surprise I did not feel ill! Or extremely hung over for the next week! I actually enjoyed the experience of being able to have a tipple! I'm not sure if that's a good thing or not! Lol

zbd

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
I worked in bars for 15 years while taking the max dosage of metformin (3gms daily), lost count of the times I got 'blootered' without side effects, still taking it. No probs;)

mfactor

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I only started taking the Metformin less than 7 days ago, and am a drinker and have continued to drink (lager).

When I was diagnosed 2 years ago I gave up drinking for months on the docs advice but since then have read up on the subject and found that alcohol is fine............