Another Newbie

Christina0308

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi all, I've done a post on the intro forum with some info but would like to add to this one. I'm Christina, diagnosed last Thursday, not much info from doctors, diet and exercise for three month and then bloods again. Received letters for eyes and telephone appointment referral. Had feet done today ok. Referral is for a 2 day course . Blood numbers I know are glucose 50, after fasting 48, liver, kidney ok. I am over weight too much tummy fat. After reading on here a low carb option seems to be working well, so cut down from last week on extra mindless carb and sugar eating and hope to follow advice given. Sorry for ranting trying to re educate myself on food, carbs especially.

Reactions: Mal37 and Brunneria

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Welcome Christina. I'm a relative Newbie too, only diagnosed about 4 weeks ago. Good you have had your feet checked already and your education and eye checks are in the pipeline. More experienced members will be along soon with loads of useful information. However in the meantime I'll tell you my way of dealing with this. I've been eating no more than 100g of carbohydrates a day and I have been monitoring my blood sugar levels. This helps me see how different foods affect me and also cheers me up as I've seen my numbers dropping. As for weight, I have plenty to loose and have already lost a stone and a half, just by counting carbs not calories.
You've come to the right place, the info and support you'll get are second to none.

Reactions: Mal37 and Kph103

Christina0308

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Thank you Rachox,