bad employer

kriss

after being unemployed for 3 years i got a job whoppeee in may this year and as im new to diabetes( feb 15 ) type 2 i was worried about telling my new employer about my diabetes i spoke to my diabetes nurse who told me you don't have to tell them anything just prove to them you can do a full time job then if you want tell them later . ok sounds fine as i have my diabetes under control no problems so i cant see a problem ,so i did my job until the 3rd week when there was a management meeting , i was given my job for the next week then i said you do remember i need 1/2 a day off monday( this was for a diabetic check up)and booked weeks before i took the job ,oh replied my line manager she was no at all pleased , i said i have to go some where but be ok tuesday no i asked you where are you going said my manager now as i was not willing to say in front of a room of people about my condition !!!!! i was told well if that's your attitude don't bother coming back !!!!!!!!!! now as im unemployed again my concern is do i say or not say about my condition next time

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
That's very sad and very unexpected. The reality is that employer would have been bad anyway to work for. I don't think there is any need for a T2 to mention this to an employer unless on Gliclazide or insulin and hence a small hypo risk. We all have GP appointments and once or twice a year for a diabetes check-up is nothing, so just say you're going to the docs.

Pipey

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)