1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2017 »
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Blood sugar issues

Discussion in 'Children & Teens' started by diabeticmegxo, Aug 8, 2017.

1. diabeticmegxo

diabeticmegxo Type 1 · Member

Hi I'm new to this but I've been diagnosed for almost 8 years I'm fourteen and my bloods are way out of control my meter reads "HI" a lot and my hba1c has gone up to fourteen I don't carb count I only do 2 injections a day that's novo mix 30 by the way so I was wandering if anyone would be able to help

2. catapillar

catapillar Type 1 · Well-Known Member

Why are you on mixed insulin and not a basal/bolus regime? Where are you based?

A mixed insulin regime will only be able to cope with a certain quantity of carbs intake. If you are getting readings of HI then that suggests you are eating too many carbs for your insulin to deal with. You should get some advice from your healthcare team on what sort of carb intake your insulin is designed to deal with or whether you need to increase your dosage.

When you get a reading of HI are you testing for ketones?

• Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. azure

azure Type 1 · Moderator
    Staff Member

Hi @diabeticmegxo :)

When did this rise in blood sugar start? Have your team given you any advice?

I was on a mixed insulin regime when I was first diagnosed. You really do need to carb count to get good control. I was given set doses of insulin but also set amounts of carbs to eat.

• Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  4. diabeticmegxo

I'm based in Birmingham and I was on a basal bolus regime but they didn't think it was right and yeah I am testing for ketones

5. diabeticmegxo