Can we push insulin through on the Medtronic pump?

suzipuze_

Type of diabetes
Parent
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi all,
This is my first time posting on here so hope this is in the right place!
Am looking for some advice with regards to the Medtronic pump that my daughter has! We've only had it a few weeks and she loves it but we keep having issues with air bubbles in the reservoir and the the tubing. There are none visible when we insert the new reservoir (am keeping it at room temp for 24hrs before and warming it up to body temp (in my bra!) before actually using it) so not sure where they're coming from - perhaps a faulty batch of syringes?
We're waiting on our big delivery of new ones so once we have those I'll see if the problem carries on...
In the meantime, is there any way that we can push insulin through the pump (obviously when not connected to the body!) to get rid of the air bubbles? Without having to change the whole set?? At the moment I'm doing it by the option to re-fill the cannula but it takes forever!!
Any advice would be much appreciated!

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People that can't listen to other people's opinions.
People that can't say sorry.
I only had medtronic for a short time and I was concerned that I had stuck bubbles in tube that I could not pump out. They were not bubbles..but marks in the tubing.
Bubbles in cartridges may be from insulin warming up. Once using insulin, keep it at room temperature.. make sure not using it direct from fridge.
Cant answer about priming out bubbles from cartridge on medtronic as it a while ago and I handed it back...

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People that can't listen to other people's opinions.
People that can't say sorry.
I think you have found the only way to do it on medtronic pump by saying refilling cartridge....