Carbs

Joy05

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
Hi , I'm new to this and have posted a few questions already , I'm just confused over all all the conflicting advice all over the Internet . I gather I have to cut back on carbs ? Do I leave them out completely or can I have so many a day ? Also is there any cereal I can eat for breakfast ? Can I eat meat and veg as much as I want or are there limits on this as well . I have always been a really fussy eater so I am actually panicking a little about what I can and can't eat . Any advice would be appreciated . Thank you x

Randburg

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Grey Cats
Hi @Joy05
If you have type 2 Diabetes, reducing carbs will decrease your blood sugars as many have done.
If you want to loose weight as well, reducing them to very low figures 25g/day or less and combining this with exercise will also work.
Read through some of the forums, Low Carb. LCHF diets etc.
It is a good idea to test your blood levels before and 2 hours after a meal, and you will over time be able to work out how and what carbs not to eat.

DeejayR

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi Joy, try not to worry. I should stick to what you learn on here, at least until you have enough info to make up your own mind. You already have @daisy1's excellent guide to managing your diabetes, and that tells you that cutting carbs is the way to go. Instead of carbs for energy we eat more good fat. This sounds strange but it works. Extra fat doesn't make us fat or make our cholesterol levels go up.
I'm afraid cereals are a problem for most of us, and what people eat instead is detailed in the "what have you eaten today?" threads.
Meat, fish and green veg are mostly good; root veg including spuds are mostly not. You will learn which ones as you go along.