Chia Seeds

Fraddycat

Hi all,

My Chia seeds have just arrived from Amazon, I have never tried them before but heard everyone's comments so decided to try them but I have some questions;

People talk about white chia seeds - mine are black, does that matter? They look like poppy seeds. (wondering if I have been ripped off)
How much should I use on my yoghurt?
Can I use them in other dishes?

Thanks
Jane

Fraddycat

The black chia seeds did swell though and I feel very full, so hopefully the colour is irrelevant ... especially as I bought half a kilo which will probably last me a year!

catza

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi Fraddycat. I use both white and black chia seeds. I haven't noticed any difference in the way they work but the white ones disappear into the mixture better and this works for me when I add then to certain dishes. For example, if I am making a cheese sauce my husband finds the black specs unappertising. I use a level teaspoon of the seeds in my morning yoghurt to get the texture I like but it was trial and error when I first started using them.

Do make sure you drink plenty of fluids as I underestimated the effect having the dry seeds sprinkled on dishes and ended up feeling quite uncomfortable until I sussed out how they worked. Chia seeds are certainly worth the effort though. I find I am using them more than I expected.

xyzzy

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Undeserving authority figures of all kinds and idiots.

Sid Bonkers

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Customer helplines that use recorded menus that promise to put me through to the right person but never do - and being ill. Oh, and did I mention customer helplines :)
xyzzy said:
where you can pick up loads of stuff like Almond flour as well at really good prices.