Is cinnamon an effective treatment for Type 2 Diabetes?

• Yes, when medication is also taken

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

april29

Hi all,

I'm an A level student currently writing up a dissertation for an Extended Project Qualification which investigates the role of diet in management of Type 2 Diabetes. It would be really useful to gather some primary research to include in my project so I was wondering if anyone could spare a moment of your time to offer your personal opinion/experience of cinnamon in the treatment of Type 2 Diabetes.

Current research is very controversial, therefore it would be extremely valuable to read your personal views, if possible answering any of the following questions:

- How effective do you believe cinnamon is in treating Type 2 Diabetes and why?
- What are (if any) advantages/positive effects of cinnamon?
- What are (if any) the disadvantages/side effects of cinnamon?
- How easy/difficult is it to make a lifestyle change adding cinnamon to your diet?
- Can cinnamon be used alone to treat Type 2 Diabetes or alongside medication?

- Any other personal experience/opinion or relevant information on cinnamon would be much appreciated!

All responses will remain anonymous.

Thanks so much for your time,
April :)

Shippers

I am type 2. I always have 30 gsm of jumbo oats with a teaspoon of Sri Lanken cinnamon and soya yoghurt with soya milk every day for breakfast followed by boiled eggs and a small toast with marmite. I take chrome tablets as a supplement. I avoid carbo hydrates during the day as far as possible. Sometimes I have a cooked breakfast after my cereal consisting of 1 or 2 rashers of lean back bacon with mushrooms and tomatoes and 1 egg cooked in a ceramic pan with only 2 or 3 teaspoons of rapeseed oil. This reduces my blood sugar 3 hours after very dramatically. My blood sugar readings around midday remain between 4.8 and 5.8 daily.
Hope this is helpful.

Reactions: suginami

Resurgam

Expert
Type of diabetes