Considering a baby

Pepsi Max

Hi all, not sure if this is the right forum for my question but here goes, I'm a type 1 since 2005, recently on a pump. My last hba1c was 7.7% Recently myself & my husband have been considering having our first child but to be honest I'm scared. Scared of complications & the whole shebang! My last appoint with my Dr was Nov 2013, they said they would refer me to my local maternity diabetes clinic but I haven't heard anything. I suppose now I'm looking for information to prepare me so I can get a head start. Anything like what my % should be before conceiving, how can I get it down, any supplements I should start to take, what to expect etc etc any advice is extremely welcomed!

Diabetic warrior since 2005!

leanneswift

Hi, I just wanted to reply to you to say don't let diabetes stop you from having children. I am very new to diabetes. Diagnosed 4 months ago with type 2 and recently found out I am pregnant with my 3rd child. I am now on insulin and lots of tablets- very stressful for me but I am just getting used to it. Maternity units are sided to dealing with diabetic women and in my experience- very good. Hope all goes well and good luck x

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

Pepsi Max

Thanks for your reply. I suppose I just want to know what's ahead for me & not to be shocked or upset by scare tactics the health professionals can sometimes use...

elaine77

Hey Pepsi...I have wondered about this too. I have two children already and although I had gestational diabetes with my second child I was told it had disappeared after he was born, til it came back 2yrs later as LADA! I think if u re-post ur question in ask a question or type 1 thread u will get lots of advice because gestational diabetes is for people who usually don't get diabetes until they're already pregnant....so they won't have had to prepare for it like you do. My husband has been talking of having another but I'm too scared :-(