Could it be Dawn Phenomenon?

Pegi

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
I keep waking early, this morning it was 4.40am, this early waking has been going on for weeks now every night.
I go to bed at 11pm to make sure I get some sleep.
I tested at this early hour and it was 6.4 this morning.
Reading back through the records I'm keeping, early morning tests are all similar, 6.5, 6.2 etc .

I'm as yet undiagnosed as I only had tests last Thursday so results of test and HBA1c not back yet. Does anyone know approx. how long the results of the HBA1c takes in the UK ?

During the day my readings are within acceptable levels according to what I've seen, though I'm no expert on the matter !

No doubt this topic has been discussed before but am a newbie and apologise if there is a thread about it somewhere else on the forum.
Many thanks in advance.

Joe Sweatthang

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Not Paragliding
Those morning readings are OK. Glucose intollerent / pre diabetic. Wish mine where at that level in the morning. (Soon will be) The Blood tests take between 1 & 2 weeks.

DiamondAsh

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Disregard for authority. Noise.
The dawn effect is thought to be triggered by a normal predawn increase in the levels of hormones, particularly human growth hormone, that tell the liver to release glucose. This is the body’s way of making sure it has enough energy to get-up-and-go come the dawn.
If a person does not have enough insulin to counteract these hormones a delicate balance is lost, and blood glucose can be too high by morning.

Eating breakfast helps to normalize blood glucose levels; it signals to the body that it is day and time to rein in the anti-insulin hormones. Hence your normal levels throughout the day.

Yorksman

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only