Dexcom advice.

therower

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi everyone. Looking for some information/ advice.
Santa has made a suggestion he might like to contribute to the purchase of a dexcom cgm.
A few questions if I may .
1 . I don't have a smartphone, would the G4 be a better, cheaper more practical option?
2. How do you set about purchasing the initial starter kit? Who do you purchase from?
Just a few basic questions at the moment but I would be very grateful for any tips or advice.

Thanks.

Reactions: Snapsy
D

Deleted Account

I have the G4 for occasional use. I chose it because my Animas pump works as the receiver.
If you have no pump or phone, you will need a separate receiver. I have no experience of this.

Dexcom works very different to Libre. The readings are not stored on the sensor. They are sent directly to the reader so this needs to be with you at all times. And close enough that you hear the alert when your Bg is out of range or changing fast.

I purchase the Dexcom sensors from Animas although I have read it is possible to buy direct from Dexcom for a slightly lower cost.
You may need “approval” from your healthcare team. I did, don’t know why but it was just a formality.
Might have something to do with not paying VAT.

Reactions: therower

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
1 . I don't have a smartphone, would the G4 be a better, cheaper more practical option?

If you aren't going to use your phone as a receiver, which can only be done with a smart phone, then G4 will certainly be cheaper.

You'll need:
- G4 transmitter £260 lasts 12 months, but will go for a bit longer. The G5 transmitters die after 3 months, for a similar price
- G4 receiver £350. so long as you don't drop it down the toilet this just keeps going. To avoid that there are nice cases that carabiner clip on. If you were using G5 with phone as receiver then you wouldn't need to buy a receiver at all.