Diabetes & hyperthyroidism in the same week

Crydders

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi all,

I'm new to this. Last Monday I went to the Dr's to get tested (I was having symptoms of hyperglycaemia) nd low and behold my BG was 17.

On Thursday they took more bloods and called me back because my thyroid is doing cartwheels.

How long on average does it take to return to a normal BG? Can the hyperthyroidism be making this difficult? I've cut back all unnecessary carbs & sugar and I'm not sure what else I can do.

I know it's only been a little over a week but I'm a little gutted I'm averaging 12 with the lowest reading of 8.

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi all,

I'm new to this. Last Monday I went to the Dr's to get tested (I was having symptoms of hyperglycaemia) nd low and behold my BG was 17.

On Thursday they took more bloods and called me back because my thyroid is doing cartwheels.

How long on average does it take to return to a normal BG? Can the hyperthyroidism be making this difficult? I've cut back all unnecessary carbs & sugar and I'm not sure what else I can do.

I know it's only been a little over a week but I'm a little gutted I'm averaging 12 with the lowest reading of 8.

Hi and welcome,

I can't comment on thyroid issues as I have no experience of them.

Excellent that you have a meter and are testing, and excellent you have cut back on carbs and sugar ...... but you say "unnecessary carbs". Can you explain what you mean by this?

You are asking how long is a piece of string I'm afraid. Blood glucose levels can come down to normal quite quickly, but not always and not for everyone. This is a marathon, not a sprint, and needs patience and organisation.

Are these readings you give just fasting morning levels, or are you also testing before and after meals? It makes a difference.