Driving Instructor

SydnieO

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi all,

I am wondering if anyone here is a driving instructor and can give me some advice?
I was diagnosed type 2 just over a year ago aged 24. I have been havine issues controlling my sugars and even on medication I'm still suffering.
My GP has said there is a high chance that I'm type 1 and not type 2 but is not willing to test to find out (i am back tonight withy husband to lodge a complaint)
I would like to know if anyone knows the legal implications with this and being an instructor, I understand as a driver there are certain criteria etc for types of medication or insulin etc. But what about teaching? I am very tired all the time and struggle to focus, I feel very detached from the world.
Im not even sure who I'd need to contact to find this information out.

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hi @SydnieO You will need to ask your doctor if the medication you are taking needs to be reported to DVLA: https://www.gov.uk/diabetes-driving I don't imagine it's any different for an instructor vs a typical driver but regardless it's your GP you need to speak to first.

Mr_Pot

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
My GP has said there is a high chance that I'm type 1 and not type 2 but is not willing to test to find out
Why not? That seems an odd attitude. If he doesn't know, that's what tests are for.

Johnjoe13

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)