"fed UP"

elaine ann

Type of diabetes
LADA
Hi I was diagnosed type 2 early in March. I had been itching at night in bed for approximately 9 months, so GP ran some routine bloods. I found out my BG was 20 so was put on 500 Metformin twice a day. I had lots of other symptoms too such as a really dry mouth, very thirsty, peeing more, dizzy, very dry skin on face and body, sweating, breathless, overwhelming fatigue but the worst thing was my blurry eyesight which I had been complaining about for months, I went and had an eye test beteen Christmas and New Year only to be told I had very dry eyes and was recomended to use systane eye drops (which didnt help). I hadn't put all these syptoms together and never thought about diabetes.

I was refused a BG meter and told Type 2 don't need to test. Told to loose weight although I had already lost 7lb despite being hungry all the time and pigging out on sweet things. Was given a booklet about diabetes and told I would be recalled for a blood test and review in 3 months time. I was advised to make an appointment with my optician asap and advised she would put a referal through to podietry as I have some loss off sensation in some of my toes. My optician wasnt too happy and put a referal through to the hospital who have told me the pressure in my eyes is too high and will see them again in 6 weeks time. The podiatrist checked my feet and cut my nails and said she will see me 3 monthly. From reading this forum I decided I definately needed a BG machine if I were to help myself as much as possible so rang my diabetic nurse and put my argument forward, she reluctantly agreed to me having one.