Final Written Warning from work

Galloway2410

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Hi Guys

Need some advice. I have been working for my employer for over 10 years. I have always had type 2 diabetes since I have worked there. This year my health took a turn for the worse. I had two strokes effecting by side of my brain. I was unable to work for six months. I received sick pay and my work was informed however when I returned I received my first written warning. Once returning to work I developed a DVT which left me again in hospital and having time off for a month. I again returned to work and received my second written warning for time of sick. I then required an operation on my toe which was caused as a complication of having diabetes, which then got infected which caused me to have another month of work. I just returned to work to receive my final written warning and been adviced I can not have anymore time of work for 12 months. Is this legal. All condition are related to my diabetes.

Fayefaye1429

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Have you been through their occupational health? I e seen a nurse through h r

andcol

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
I think you need to get some legal advice.

Reactions: 2 people

NinaB73

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I don't understand why you had written warnings for being off sick?? This is unacceptable! Regardless of diabetes! Is there more to it than that? I sympathise with you! It sounds an awful experience that you are going through and as others have said I would certainly seek legal advise with this! I may be in the dark ages as I am self employed but this does seem grossly unfair! Let us know of the outcome as I would be interested...I may not return to the world of employment if that is the case:(

Fayefaye1429

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump