Help Appreciated, Working on Student Project.

Kidcov88

Hi guys i've joined this forum to try to get some help in getting answers to some specific questions about diabetes. My name is James and I'm studying design for advertising at University of the Arts London.

I am currently working on a brief for Diabetes UK to increase awareness and prevention of type 2 diabetes in people of 18-30 in the UK. This is a University project however these will then be presented to the client and possibly used for their next campaign.

One approach I have been considering is making people aware of the type 2 symptoms could in some cases be easily ignored, or mistaken for other things.
Some questions I was hoping I might be able to get some clarification on are:

How much of a problem is type 2 diabetes for people of 18-30? Most materials I have read suggest it is most common in later life.

Do the symptoms slowly develop over time. Would these symptoms be experienced by people of this age group.

Do you feel it would help for people to be made more aware of the symptoms of diabetes?

Alternatively if anyone knows somewhere I can get in touch with to get more information from a research based perspective rather than as a patient that would be really helpful too.

Many thanks, any help anyone can give me will be much appreciated.

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.
Welcome to the forum ,James.I hope you get some useful input to your questions.i am not in your age bracket(I wish) but I had none of the classic symptoms before diagnosis!!I went to the doctors with stress and came out with diabetes,sort of buy one get one free!

Dennis

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Dislikes
People who join web forums to be agressive and cause trouble
Hi James,

Like Sue I am well outside your age group, as will be around 95% of all type 2s.

I found this that might be of interest to you.