Hi :)

Rie26

Type of diabetes
MODY
Newbie here :) was diagnosed as type 2 when I was 15 and had been on metformin SR. It's now 15 years later and I've just been told I'm MODY (1A). Anyone else on here MODY? I had been changed to 40mg gliclazide a day and that dose was way too high as was having hypos. Now on 20mg 4 days a week which is much better. I'm also doing slimming world the last 6 months which has helped my BS come down to 6 on average. Struggling to loose weight though since changing my tablet. Well that's enough about me lol nice to meet you all :) x

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi. Your inability to lose weight may be that the SW diet is too high in carbs? Gliclazide enables the body to metabolise carbs more readily so you need to keep them sensibly low to keep weight down.

Rie26

Type of diabetes
MODY
Thank you for your reply :) yes carbs on slimming world are what they call free food so they say you can eat as much as you like...but I try not to over do it. Same with fruit I only have 2-3 portions through the day. I tend to eat more mince and vegetables and have a little carbs on the side. I have heard that gliclazide can cause weight gain. I'm sure it's the tablet as was looking much more when on metformin. So hard to get the balance right x

Rie26

Type of diabetes
MODY
I forgot to mention I've also been diagnosed as have a benign liver hepatic adenoma which apparently is linked to the mody I have. No problems with it at the moment x

LittleGreyCat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Diet drinks - the artificial sweeteners taste vile.
Having to forswear foods I have loved all my life.
Trying to find low carb meals when eating out.
Out of interest why did you switch from the Metformin?
Was you BG getting too high, with high HbA1c readings?
If you have been treated for 15 years as a T2 then I assume that your control has been pretty good.