High blood sugars but low GI eating. Max 100g-120g carbs a day.

pennyjwills

Dislikes
Mobile phone noises
Hiya,

I am ridiculously confused as for the last 2 1/2 years I've been on a low glycemic plan which is my life plan. I eat a variety of fruit and vegetables... mainly berries and green veg. I eat lean veggie protein like tofu, quorn, soya, beans, pea protein etc and if I have cheese I use a low fat cream cheese like philadelphia or goats cheese.

I have a spinach and egg white omelette every day with tomatoes and soya sausages which I ensure have a high protein content.

I keep a visual food diary and a myfitnesspal diary which I have been keeping up to date for 2 years. www.instagram.com/fatfashionablefoodie

I'm type 1 and I'm on a basal bonus regime and have been on it for 10 years now. 40u levemir at night about 7.30pm and 40u levermir in the morning at about 7.30am. My Novorapid is around 3-6u with meals as the only time I need around 6 u is for adjustment doses or if I eat more than 50g of brown rice pasta or buckwheat noodles.

I do everything I can to stay fit and go hiking every weekend between 3-6 miles and I use my rowing machine for 30 mins once or twice a week and actively use Endomondo and a HRM.

In the last 2 weeks my sugars have been leaping between 8mmol and 20mmol. I'm on a dafne course waiting list and at some point eventually I will get somewhere on the pump list but at this moment both my consultant and I are confused. I can only think that it might be because I do 5 injections a day and my skin is very bruised. I have a muscular stocky build and my tummy is my only area with fat so my tummy and flanks have been the only places I have ever been able to inject into.

Has anyone else had the same issues? Am I taking too much Levermir? I had a couple of 20mmol's last week at 2-3am and put it down to the dawn phenomenom as I hadn't eaten heavy starches those days.