Type 1 HYPO fix.

Scarlett91

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Can anyone tell me if Dextro Energy Tablets are suitable to treat hypos?
I'm looking for something that can be used that isn't a food as being a dental nurse I'm not allowed food on me during work hours, I'm having to sneak some Haribo(tiny pack) down my throat in the toilet when I can but I thought chewable tablets would be more discreet and professional.
Thanks in advance..

Scarlett

Reactions: Snapsy

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
Under the disability act employers have to make reasonable allowances for diabetics. I would argue that having a hypo treatment with you is reasonable.
Not sure the dextrose tabs are more discrete, they still take dome chewing!
Are you allowed drinks? Full sugar drinks work.

Snapsy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi @Scarlett91 - oooooh, tricky - what I do is decant Glucotabs (round, raspberry flavoured) into an old test strip canister - it's struck me that it might be an option for you as it looks more medical than consumable..... And they're very very obviously 'tablets' with - in this case - no obvious 'foodie' packaging.

I agree with @Diakat that it is a reasonable expectation to be permitted access to (potentially lifesaving) hypo treatments!

Here's a pic - forgive the pocket lint on the canister. Needs a wipe......

image.jpeg

Reactions: Juicyj

Scarlett91

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Under the disability act employers have to make reasonable allowances for diabetics. I would argue that having a hypo treatment with you is reasonable.
Not sure the dextrose tabs are more discrete, they still take dome chewing!
Are you allowed drinks? Full sugar drinks work.
Thank you for replying. Unfortunately they aren't being great and I'm going through the motions of getting them to understand and give me allowances. My employers couldn't really care less.