I am a Heartbroken New

Shad Ahammed

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,
I am Shad from Germany. I was just diagnosed a couple of days before with type 1. I am 31 years and have a kid. When I was told of that I could not understand why me? I am studying in Germany and living alone in a student 1 room apartment. Sometimes I feel if something happens to me, there will not be anyone around. I got many good advisers around who are supporting me. I want to be strong like all others but I don't know when. I still could not accept it and don't know if I can. The only question going around me now is will I live healthy ever? Or will i die soon! Thanks for reading my sloppy introduction.

Shad

Freema

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
sad you are far from your family in this... but there are very many type 1 diabetics in here in all ages... so stay here and ask all the questions you have ..some are very experienced in here and can reasure you and give excellent advise sometimes..

Reactions: noblehead

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Welcome to the forum @Shad Ahammed

Diabetes does come as quite a shock but it's a condition that you can live healthy with and shouldn't impact on your life too much, in time things will get easier and you'll cope just like the next person.

By far the first few weeks & months are the worst so don't despair, the life expectancy of people who have the condition under control is increasing with every decade that passes, keep in regular contact with your diabetes team and you'll be fine.

Take care and best wishes.

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Welcome @Shad Ahammed :)

You're not alone. There are lots of Type 1s here :)

Give yourself time. A Type 1 diagnosis is a big shock. It will get easier :)

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only