I don't understand the high levels

paula121s

Hi,

I am relatively new to all this. I have found the info here invaluable. I have read all about diabetes etc on here and elsewhere and I am on the 5.2 diet along with reducing carbs. I am also restricting calories to around 1500 on the none fasting days. My carb intake is averaging between 50 & 70g a day. Prior to my evening meal my big was 6.6, I had a dinner of 501 calories and 35g carbs. 2 hours later it had shot up to 12.2 then bedtime it's down to 8.2. Can anyone explain why this happens? Today was not a fasting day.

Thank you.

CherryAA

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
My thoughts would be, 35g for one meal is quite a lot. I allow myself that per day. I'm now a lot better controlled when I first started, but an inadvertent intake of something very carby can lead to a big spike. If I did 35 g in one meal then I would expect to see a big increase too.

paula121s

My thoughts would be, 35g for one meal is quite a lot. I allow myself that per day. I'm now a lot better controlled when I first started, but an inadvertent intake of something very carby can lead to a big spike. If I did 35 g in one meal then I would expect to see a big increase too.
Thank you Cherry, I was told by the dn to aim for 40g or under per meal, on here it says to start at 100g or lower a day. I have been getting on reasonably well but it looks like I'm going to cut carbs to under 50g a day. I really need to get on top of this. Do you ever get to the point when it doesn't rule your life? I have even thought about taking scales out with me !!

Ian_Laye

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi @paula121s I was diagnosed in May 16 and have stuck to under 30g Carbs per day since July 16, my levels are now in the normal range. My reading tonight was 4.1 before going to bed, it really is worth keeping your carb levels to a minimum.

Last edited:

TooManyCrisps

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only