I'm new to all this

Hartnell6

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hiya I've just been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. Had my first gp appointment today and the doctor weighed me logged me onto the system as diabetic. I was a little concerned as I've been very sleepy lately and feeling rough the whole time. She doesn't want me to test my blood sugars but wants me to lose weight as my hba1c is just in the diabetic range.
I'm 5ft1 and weigh 73kgs

Reactions: Freema

KezG

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Tripe, most shellfish.. mussels, cockles etc...
Hello @Hartnell6 Welcome to the forum.. There are plenty of friendly people here to answer any questions you may have. It's often a huge shock when your'e first diagnosed and there seems a lot to take in. I'll tag @daisy1 who can give you some basic info to start you off with.

Reactions: AM1874 and Freema
M

ME_Valentijn

I was a little concerned as I've been very sleepy lately and feeling rough the whole time.
What was your fasting blood sugar at diagnosis? It might still be way too high if you're having nasty symptoms.
She doesn't want me to test my blood sugars ....
She's not the one who's feeling sick and trying to figure out how to improve the situation in the short term. A glucose meter is essential to gaining some control.

Freema

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hiya I've just been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. Had my first gp appointment today and the doctor weighed me logged me onto the system as diabetic. I was a little concerned as I've been very sleepy lately and feeling rough the whole time. She doesn't want me to test my blood sugars but wants me to lose weight as my hba1c is just in the diabetic range.
I'm 5ft1 and weigh 73kgs