Induction hobs and pumps warning

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People that can't listen to other people's opinions.
People that can't say sorry.
Hi
Is any fellow pump user out there cooking on an induction hob?

We just bought and installed a new kitchen with a Neff Induction hob.....instructions say that Insulin Pump users should not use....

Great excuse not to do anymore cooking on the hob... However, just wondered whether anybody has so far experienced any problems when using the pump and an induction hob?

Trina

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People who don't try, negative thinking
We have had an induction hob for over a year now and I've been using a pump for 4 months. No problems that I have encountered. Hope this helps

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Did it say actually say anything in your instructions ... Quite big lettering in ours......that heart pacemakers and insulin pump users must not use them?

iHs

Something to do with strong magnetic fields.........

Take pump off when doing the cooking ?????

phoenix

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
That's an interesting one DD, I'd never thought about it.
Google turned up that there are lots of manufacturers warning about this. It is obviously a required warning but it varied some said implanted insulin pump and some just said insulin pump. They are somewhat different.

However, DUK does warn against there use saying that they can affect the pump's motor and to contact the manufacturers of your pump.

I found the Medtronic leaflet for people with pacemakers, they are told to keep the device (ie the bit of their body it's implanted in)
2 feet away from induction hobs but they are also told that electronic body fat scales aren't recommended and that they should keep lots of ordinary devices like hairdryers and electric hand mixers 6inches from the device.