Insulin leaking

mealingcg

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi I'm relatively new to injecting insulin and am still trying to get my long acting dosage correct. My dosage just seems to be going up and up but I did notice today that I'm getting leakage of the insulin once I inject. I inject into my abdomen and keep the needle in for 10 seconds after injecting. I'm currently on 36 units of abasaglar - any advice as to what I am doing wrong would be very much appreciated!!!

Reactions: SWUSA_

SWUSA_

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Parsnips, turnips, swedes-the vegetable not the people.
I keep the needle in about 15 seconds now because I noticed with the larger dose (40 units for me now) that I was getting some leakage just as you described with keeping the needle in for 10 seconds. My fasting blood glucose also started going down after I made this change so I think that is another indication that the insulin was not all being absorbed in 10 seconds but is at 15 seconds.

Reactions: noblehead

TorqPenderloin

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
It's normal to have a tiny droplet of insulin on the tip of the needly after you remove it from injecting. However, it shouldn't be much at all.

With that much insulin, I'd consider breaking up the dose and doing two injections (one right after the other). I just switched to Tresiba and inject 16 units just before bed. I split it up into 8 units in one arm and 8 units in the other. In my case, it's probably overkill, but it works for me.

mealingcg

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I keep the needle in about 15 seconds now because I noticed with the larger dose (40 units for me now) that I was getting some leakage just as you described with keeping the needle in for 10 seconds. My fasting blood glucose also started going down after I made this change so I think that is another indication that the insulin was not all being absorbed in 10 seconds but is at 15 seconds.