It's all too much

susieg

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
the confusion about what and what not to eat, provided by others who know it all!
I'm in my 2nd year of being dx type 1, I tried within this time to keep my bg's within reach, and I suceeded. my Hba1c went from 11.0 on dx down to 7. I am now struggling to keep those levels down, Just recently I have had to up my doses from 1:10 to 1.5 :10 to try to get the levels down, it seems to be working,but then if I walk/exercise, it does into hypo,But how do you know if you're going to go into hypo just because you walk the dog or go to the shops? It's a bit of a chore to plan everything.
I also increased my lantus by 1u. This morning my waking level was 10.0! I can't understand how and why they are rising this much in the mornings, I've tried eating before bed, not eating before bed, getting my levels down to 6-7 before bed or letting it go up to 10.0 but nothing seems to work.
I'm getting really fed up with reading up about it all, I feel like just giving up. I'm fed up weighing everything, checking, and double checking labels, not eating this or that, and I suppose I'm just generally getting sick of the whole thing. If my levels were ok I might feel better, I've had a cold for the past 3-4weeks and I suppose that doesn't help, but I just can't get my head around how much insulin I should have at each meal. My DSN said I should be on 1:10 and 14u lantus, but if I stayed on that my levels would be up in the 12's.
Is this just a general feeling of 'it's all too much' or does everyone go through some sort of aftermath of dx?

robert72

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi susieg

You're not alone - we all go through this stage. You're doing well and it's absolutely worth persevering.