Ketosis

Butterflykeri

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Insulin
So started following dr Bernstein after new year and have been keeping an eye on ketone levels. Done this evening and it's gone to 80, the second darkest purple.....is this a problem? Blood sugars are staying stable in 4s and 5s

Reactions: 4 people

Diamattic

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
How many grams of carbs are you eating total, each day ?

Totto

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I am no expert but it is common to have high ketones in urine in the beginning, at least for people who doesn't suffer from type 1 diabetes so it seems likely also type ones will have high urine ketones.

As long as your bg is normal I can't see any reasons for alarm. In a couple of weeks time your body will be better at using the ketones and your level will go down.

Butterflykeri

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Insulin
Okey dokey will keep an eye on it....think I might be suffering slightly from the carb flu anyway, but headachey and legs feel heavy and tired! Hope it improves soon!

robert72

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I take it that's 8.0 mmol/l or +++ on the ketostix?

It's a bit high for nutritional ketosis but it would be much more accurate to do a ketone blood test if you can.

Reactions: 3 people

tim2000s

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
As someone who has been in and out of Ketosis for a while, it's usually fine. I hit the darker colours once. When you first start on the very low carb diet, you generate excess ketones that show up in your urine. After you are keto-adpated, i.e. you are burning fats as fuel, then they will disappear. This usually takes about a week, and as long as you are monitoring your blood sugars and they are in a safe range, I think you should be okay.

The ketones do make your muscles feel a little odd at first, but it won't last!

Reactions: 3 people

robert72

Type of diabetes
Type 1