Living with t1

Soapybubs87

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Soo i am new to anyrhing like this, was diagnosed at 15 with T1 i am now 30 was never the best diabetic as i felt ashamed and didnt want to be different, i work as a nurse and sorted my act out..however i did it to fast and got my hba1c from 123 to 63 in 3 months and as a result i have had lazer after lazer and injections to help with retinopathy my sight is bad but luckily i can still read ect at ine point i couldnt see my own face! So im lucky in that respect...however i do feel lime my life is over and i have nothing to look forward to, i just feel like pwolle dont u derstand, my work is terrible i had a bad hypo 1.8 and it took 30mins for someone to notice tgey thought i was drunk!! Sorry for the rant just i feel a bit alone...or i get my husbands brothers got t2 diabetes so i know how you feel...really dont, just wondering if anyone else has felt like this?

Reactions: himtoo

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.

Soapybubs87

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Thank you for your reply! And hopefully i will feel a bit vetter being on here now dispite how common diabetes is now theres not many people i know with it probably about 3 people, i will check out the link x

novorapidboi26

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Your story sounds a lot like mine actually.........

diagnosed at 15, now 34..........didn't really look after it starting from late teens to early twenties........

had an almost overnight change in control from poor to good and my eyes were effected....

I now have general retinopathy and mild maculopathy in both eyes....no treatment required as of yet thankfully.....