Low Carbing and Indian Food

simply_h

Hello All,

Hope we are all well.

Does anyone have any good ideas for indian recipes that are low carb?

Looking for both meat and vegetarian ones.

Thank you in advance.

Cheers
Simply_h

goldfish_21

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Re: Low Carbing and Indian Food.

Some of the best indian food recipes I've come across have been from slimming magazines. The Slimming world recipes for Tikka Masala in particular is a favourite in our house.

It uses a base of grated onion and tomato for the sauce, with spices and yogurt added. I always leave the yogurt out as I think it gives a funny taste and is not necessary if you leave the pan to simmer a bit so the sauce can reduce and thicken, which makes it very low carb as far as I can see (although I'm fairly new to the carb counting business so someone may come along in a minute and tell me otherwise :? It's all a bit of a learning curve).

If you're sticking to low carb but not low fat, you can add a bit of cream and make the dish more luxurious for not many extra carbs.

I'd imagine there are copyright issues with posting the actual recipe but it is easy enough to find on the interweb if you google it.

For me, the main problem re indian food/carb counting would be the rice and naan's that we tend to put with everything. Not sure what to do about that :?

Vicky

Patch

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin

I agree with the yoghurt statement - what I use in my indian cooking is Coconut Cream. You can buy it in boxes at the supermarket in super handy single serve pouches (4 pouches to a box) for around £1. Stick 'em in the microwave for 20secs, or in a bowl of hot water to soften the cream.

Perfect for making creamy curries out of the usual tomatoe based curry.

Have you got any specific recipes you are after? I've got a few lying arond that I'd be happpy to share.

ClaireG 06