Massive increase in blood sugar levels

Dizzylish78

I've had the same breakfast I usually have but my levels have gone from 6.6 to 17.2 - I've never had such a big increase. Should I be concerned?

D

Deleted Account

My first suggestion would be to wash your hands thoroughly and take another reading - you may have had some carbs on your hands or your meter may just be having a funny turn (they are not accurate all the time).
You don't say what type of diabetes you have or how you treat your diabetes.
If you are type 1, it may be that your insulin did not work. This could be due to your pen (or pump) not working properly or your insulin has gone "off" and needs to be changed.
Sorry, but I cannot offer suggestions if you are not type 1 as I have no other experience.

I hope your BG comes down soon.

Last edited by a moderator:

pensionistamike

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I've had the same breakfast I usually have but my levels have gone from 6.6 to 17.2 - I've never had such a big increase. Should I be concerned?
My first suggestion would be to wash your hands thoroughly and take another reading - you have have some carbs on your hands or your meter may just be having a funny turn (they are not accurate all the time).
You don't say what type of diabetes you have or how you treat your diabetes.
If you are type 1, it may be that your insulin did not work. This could be due to your pen (or pump) not working properly or your insulin has gone "off" and needs to be changed.
Sorry, but I cannot offer suggestions if you are not type 1 as I have no other experience.

I hope your BG comes down soon.

Reactions: Dizzylish78

therower

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
@helensaramay . The OP was in the type 2 section of the forum, so assume we are talking T2.
But like yourself I think more information is needed in order for T2's on the site to offer advice and help.

pensionistamike

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)