Max amount of pills per day?

steve_hill

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi all newbie here been loitering for a while reading posts. Trouble with this condition there is a lot of questions you need answers for.
Is there a maximum number of Metformin , Gliclazide tablets you can take in one day prescribed by the doctor, before you have to go on insulin injections. At moment I'm on Metformin 850 mg 3 x a day and Gliclazide 80 mg 2 x a day oh and 1 statin. blood sugar 4 to 7 daily.
Is there anyone with higher doses?

Last edited:
M

ME_Valentijn

In the Netherlands, the guidelines put the max for Metformin at 3000mg, and the maximum for Gliclazide is 240mg. But I think the manufacturers put the max for Gliclazide at 320mg.

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
The max dose stated by the suppliers is something like 2000mg for Metformin and 320mg for Gliclazide. When these fail to work then there is Sitagliptin and after that insulin? I've been down that route. However it's not as simple as that. Gliclazide is really only of use if you are a late onset T1 with a failing pancreas. Some GPs prescribe this without seeming to fully understand its mechanism or prescribing it 'just in case'. A T2 with excess weight on 320mg of Gliclazide would be having hypos and insulin would be of no help. In this case the right low-carb diet or Vicotoza etc might be the right solution to help reduce insulin resistance. The statin is not a diabetes drug so should be considered separately. So, if you are slim then being late onset T1 is always a possibility and a dose adjustment of the Gliclazide after review with the GP might be relevant together with tests for T1. If you have excess weight lowering the carbs further might be the best way forward. As you read around the forum be prepared to ask the GP, tactfully, why you are on each drug you take and what he/she believes they will be achieving.

steve_hill

Type of diabetes
Type 2