new, in denial, and petrified! Please help!!!!!!

curlynurse

Type of diabetes
Type 2
So as my title says, Im in denial. Havent been to dr`s yet, but checked my urine in work on monday, as I thought I had urine infection, and had 5+++++ of glucose!!! I then did my BM, it was 15.5mmol!! Im a nurse, so was able to test myself. My BM this am, before any food was 11.1mmol. Im scared, [etrified, I know I need to go to doc`s, but I refuse to be a diabetic!!! Did anyone else feel like this????

Mongolia

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi, welcome to the forum! I was diagnosed last Christmas so have spent the past year as a diabetic. I spent the first few weeks post diagnosis in tears and it was a month before I told the family. Fortunately I then found this forum with access to loads of helpful information. I made the decision to follow a low carb high fat eating plan which I have found easy to do (think I'm lucky in this respect). My HbA1c results are now within the 'normal' range, BS readings are always between 5.2 before meals and 6.7 after meals, blood pressure has come down, have lost 18kg and breakdown of cholesterol reading show all are within accepted 'normal' range. Feel better than I have in years as a result! Diabetes needn't be a death sentence - I think this is the assumption - and being a nurse you are obviously aware of complications that may arise. You just need to manage your condition responsibly. Please get yourself formally diagnosed as this will lead you to be able to access other help too - eye tests, foot checks etc. There are many people on this site who are on Metformin which has been beneficial - I'm sure someone will give you more information on this.
Let me know how you get on and please do ask further questions. Lots of people will be only to happy to help.

Reactions: 8 people

Mongolia

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
also, just to add, I feel really ashamed of myself that I let this happen :eek:(