Newly diagnosed

Strachan1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi just been diagnosed with type 1. Since 1987 had chronic brittle asthma and was in and out of hospital. Got asthma under control and then I get a brain tumour in 2006. That was all sorted and then 3 years later diagnosed with type 2 until a fortnight ago.
I am totally gutted I have to do all these injections at 53 years old. 4 injections, Novorapid and Levemir, also kept on 4 x metformin.
I have been fighting ill health for many years and now I just don't have the motivation to do it!!! I'm totally worn out fighting. It has made me feel very depressed. All the new information is overwhelming I don't want to gain weight, that is another problem I fear. I just don't want to do this and I feel I just cannot get a break from ill health. I have two sisters who have no illnesses.

Guzzler

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Poor grammar, bullying and drunks.
I am T2 so I cannot advise you on T1 treatment but I just wanted to say that the folks here will give you all the support and guidance that you may need. Once the shock of diagnosis dims then you can get on with learning how best to cope and deal with your T1DM. Best wishes.

pleinster

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
ignorance
Hi just been diagnosed with type 1. Since 1987 had chronic brittle asthma and was in and out of hospital. Got asthma under control and then I get a brain tumour in 2006. That was all sorted and then 3 years later diagnosed with type 2 until a fortnight ago.
I am totally gutted I have to do all these injections at 53 years old. 4 injections, Novorapid and Levemir, also kept on 4 x metformin.