Newly Diagnosed

Suki9

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi all I am new to this as Diagnosed T2 in August , My Mother was T2 but had to go onto insulin at a late stage in her life so already had some understanding of what I am dealing with also my Sister ha# bee T1 insulin dependent for 40+ years
So my Gp had told me I was very likely to get it , but I still find it hard to come to terms with as I know of a few people who are also T2 but don’t take it seriously so feel I do not have much support hence me joining this forum, could someone tell me which are the best snacks to eat between meals as diabetic nurse said I should be doing , I seem to be managing my Blood glucose levels ok as they have come down quite a bit but I tend to go to around 4.3 before lunch as I was lucky enough to be given a blood testing kit , sorry if I have gone on a bit any advice would be welcome thank in advance.

Reactions: ziggy_w and Guzzler

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi and welcome,

Are you taking any medication for diabetes?
Do you know what your HbA1c score was?
What sort of levels are you seeing 2 hours post meal?

Snacking is not necessary at all, in fact if you aren't normally a snacker there is no reason to start. Every time we eat we get an insulin response from our pancreas, so the more frequently we eat the more our pancreas has to work. It is best to give it a good rest between meals, and time to recover. Also, if we eat any carbs in these snacks our glucose levels will rise, which may mean they are higher than normal next time we have a meal, and this will then impact on the post meal levels.

If you need to snack it is wise to have something that contains very little carbohydrate, such as a few nuts, pork scratchings if you like them, a piece of avocado, even a hard boiled egg. I have never been a snacker, but on the odd rare occasion I feel the need I just have a cup of tea or a decaf coffee with some double cream.