pre-pregnancy questions and concerns...

pdjenna

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi,

Just looking for some advice or to hear from anyone who has been/going through what i am...

quite bit of history - i am 29, married and been on animas pump for 2 years, i have been using dexcom CGM sensors since feb and LOVE them, last results in at 6.7% (sorry still deal in old money) i work as a theatre nurse (busy!) and play a lot of competitve sport (stresses out consultant). I have been married 6 years and started trying for family last sept. No joy yet tho. I take levothyroxine and seem to produce a huge amount of protein since late teens - was on irbesartan but been switched to methyldopa - it doesnt seem to protect my kidneys as well but have lovely low bp now! i live in Orkney, our clinics are ran through telemedicine links to aberdeen, and my pregnancy/birth would be looked after and in Aberdeen.

things i am concerned about are - is there alternatives to methyldopa that can help kidney/protein that anyone can recommend; labour - is it normal to be induced? or is it a case of better control more likely they will let you continue to a "normal" labour?? can i wear pump and sensors for labour? does being diabetic make it harder to conceive? i really dont want to start "googling" these types of things!

Thanks, Jenna

Mrsass

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi,

things i am concerned about are - is there alternatives to methyldopa that can help kidney/protein that anyone can recommend; labour - is it normal to be induced? or is it a case of better control more likely they will let you continue to a "normal" labour?? can i wear pump and sensors for labour? does being diabetic make it harder to conceive? i really dont want to start "googling" these types of things!

Thanks, Jenna

Hey Jenna! Whilst I am not pregnant or have children I am planning a family myself, I can't help with any of the protein/kidney Q's