Pregnancy and ketones

Scarlet10

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello
I am 20 weeks today. I am new to animas vibe pump. I done set change yesterday tea time all ok. As night was going on my sugar was going steadily going up. I did another set change at midnight waited and it did come down a little so I assumed it was ok and went to bed. I woke at 3 to check it was 15 done correction and now I have just woke and it's still 15. I just checked for ketones it's 1.9 I'm sure I was advised if it's over a certain amount in pregnancy I need to attend a&e. I can't remember what the amount is does anyone know what's an acceptable level during pregnancy please?
I'm assuming that the second cannula can't be working but I can see insulin going through the tube. Very confused and stressed this morning.

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
@Scarlet10 Change your set, correct with a pen (being careful if you already have insulin on board) and give triage a call for advice.

I don't remember what the ketone amount is but its best to check and get reassurance.

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
To be clear, you have to assume the old set is working if you corrected through it even if it probably isn't. But if you have no insulin on board from that or any other source, then even when you put your new set in, I'd still correct with a pen.

When I had highs in pregnancy, I always corrected with my pen even if I thought the site was fine because at least that way I didn't have any doubt the insulin would be there.

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
This is a good leaflet for sick day rules for pregnant type 1. It's saying moderate ketones (1.5+) should get an assessment. It's got some good guidence on correction doses too.

http://www.perinatal.nhs.uk/diabetes/projects/leaflets/Sick_Days_Type1.pdf