Problems at work!

mattyoasis

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi, im looking to get others thoughts on my current situation! I currently work as a team leader at well known supermarket, ive worked there over 5 years and never had a problem with my diabetes. Six months ago i was moved departements and had to start work at 530am. As you can imagine this caused havoc with my blood sugars.

After 3 months my doctor provided with me a letter advising my hours to be moved to more suitable time of the day. As a result my hours were changed to 2pm-11pm. Much better, but the aspect of the job has changed and i was required to get trained on a 3.5 tonne van to just in case one of our drivers broke down and needed to be rescued. Me taking the test was on condition that i would not be used as a delivery driver. Recently i have been forced to make deliveries resulting in my stress levels rising and blood sugars becoming unstable. ?Suffered 5 hypos in 48hours due to this. Been signed off work for two weeks for poor control but this appears to be due to stress of having to do something im clearly not comfortable doing. I am also in contact with the usdaw reps in store and strongly thinking about putting a grievance to my personell manager and section manager.

Any thoughts or advice? :cry: :cry:

Sid Bonkers

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Customer helplines that use recorded menus that promise to put me through to the right person but never do - and being ill. Oh, and did I mention customer helplines :)
Hi and welcome to the forum :D

Not wishing to sound harsh but if you have suffered 5 hypos in 48 hours I am surprised that a "well known supermarket" is allowing you behind the wheel of a 3.5 ton truck, do you not need a B licence to drive such a vehicle?

I'm pretty sure the DLVA would not allow me to be aiming a 3.5 ton truck down the road and I've not had a hypo for about 6 months (touch wood)