Question about any pump / specifically omni pump

Coreylewis21

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hello.

I am new to the whole pump side of diabetes and was just wondering if anyone who has used them if they are more useful/stressful than manually injecting insulin.

I have been recommended to have the omni pump as my blood sugars when I wake up every morning range from 15-20mmol which has caused pins and needles and numbness in my foot (more explained here: http://www.diabetes.co.uk/forum/threads/pins-and-needles-and-high-blood-sugars.124543/)

Anyhow the questions I have is.

Do you get used to feeling comfortable wearing one? -as i work in retail and I fear people asking me the question of what it is a million times a day and it getting me down.

Is it easy to use or is it stressful?

Does it help with hbac1?

Does it improve morning sugars from being high?

Most importantly does it hurt?

is it worth it?

If i have any more questions I will post them below.

Appreciate any answers.
Thankyou

Reactions: himtoo

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi @Coreylewis21 :)

You get used to wearing a pump very quickly and don't even notice it.

It's easy to use - it's just another insulun delivery system. The basics are pretty simple.

It can help with HbA1C and it can smooth sugars out even if it doesn't (same HbA1C but less highs and lows)

YES! It's fantastic for high morning sugars! You can set the basal rate to cover those exactly as you need. It's a major benefit of a pump :)

No, it doesn't hurt.mi don't feel my pump at all.

Is it worth it? Well, I think so - definitely! My pump changed my life and I love it! Ive had a pump 13 years. My current pump is an Animas Vibe :)

Tagging @noblehead and @himtoo as they use the Omnipod.

Reactions: Gemma2

mariposa84

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi @Coreylewis21,

I used to have the Omnipod although I'm now on a tubed pump.