Really struggling with recent diagnosis - self-destruct

Umfriend

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi everyone

I just needed somewhere to let off steam. I was diagnosed with Type 2 in October last year and I'm really struggling. And now I seem to have pushed the self-destruct button.

Before I rant, I just want to say that I am an intelligent woman who understands what is wrong, what I need to do to rectify it, and how. I have rheumatoid arthritis, collagenous colitis (not a serious bowel condition, but constantly uncomfortable and somewhat unpredictable), and an inherently very high cholesterol level. I am (almost) 51 years old, and I am a practice manager for an ever-increasingly large legal practice - three offices when I started the job, six offices now, and three more due this year - extremely stressful. I don't get paid if I'm not at work - there is no sickness scheme - so I can't take time off easily, even for doctor/hospital appointments.

I am in a long-term stable relationship: my wonderful partner, together with my 22-year old daughter, are my rocks - they are the only thing that really keeps me on this earth.

There, that's a potted me. If you're still willing to read on: