Recent diagnosis

Brss

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hello everyone I've just been diagnosed with type 1 diabetes 3 weeks ago. I'm 54 so this is a massive shock. I'm a fitness instructor and been a runner for 33 years. I have been trying to do all this before diagnosed as my GPS said there was nothing wrong with me even though I was underweight and so tired. I feel so much better now with the insulin. If anyone has any advice for me regarding the honeymoon period and exercise that would be brilliant as I've had a few hypos and am a bit overwhelmed by it all. Many thanks

Sent from my F8331 using Diabetes.co.uk Forum mobile app

D

Deleted Account

Welcome to the club. For me, the diagnosis was a huge relief: an explanation for how I was feeling and a chance to move on and learn. Don't panic if you get it wrong occasionally, I am continuously learning more, tweaking my insulin and when I take it.
I am pleased to read you are continuing to exercise. Everyone's body is different, ho we react to exercise, how much exercise we can take without hypos, how much less insulin or more food we need is different for each meal of us.
A few things I do that help
- eat some slow acting carbs without insulin before exercise. For me, about 10 to 15g carbs worked.
- add a few drops of fruit squash to the water you drink during exercise. I find this works better for me than bottled sugar drinks as it gives me control,over the amount of sugar ... don't be afraid of a little sugar.
- reduce basal after exercise. Exercise uses up our sugar reserves so we have less through the next day.

Good luck

Reactions: Brss and ziggy_w

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Welcome @Brss :)

I'm glad you're feeling better now you're on insulin. I felt the same. It was a pretty immediate improvement.