Retinopathy vision loss

jevans82

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi all

I have proliferative retinopathy in both eyes. My left eye is pretty much blind and I'm finding it hard. I've been attending Moorfields since 2008 when it first became apparent. Was just wondering, had anyone had any success / treatment / read research etc? Has your sight ever improved? Just reaching out really. I have a private app booked as I wasn't happy with treatment and would love to have some of your thoughts. Ive been type 1 for 30 years. Hoping to start a family soon but retinopathy is providing a bit of an obstacle!

Thanks all x

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Hi @jevans82

I had a vitrectomy operation back in 2003 followed by a cataract op some months later and have been problem-free since then, my vision is still good although I have a couple of blind spots in one eye (peripheral) but it's not enough to effect my ability to drive as I still get issued with a 3 year driving licence.

When diagnosed I was told the best thing I could do was reduce my HbA1c (slowly) and keep my bp and cholesterol levels in check, my bp was normal (below 140/80) but both my Ophthalmologists and gp said they'd prefer it to be around 130/70 to take the pressure off my eyes so I started on a low-dose bp med.

Really hope your private app goes well, I'm surprised at you having to go private as I've heard so many good things about Moorfields, but nonetheless have a look at the following website as it contains some excellent information and advice on DR which you should find useful:

http://www.diabeticretinopathy.org.uk/Information_for_patients.html

Good luck.

jevans82

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump