Seeing results already

Sam50

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Just wanted to post a quick update as I am a newbie to this forum- (Hubby diagnosed T2 a month ago)
We ordered a BG monitor straight away and his first fasting blood glucose on 10th July was 17.6, this morning it was 13.3 and he has been on the low-cab diet for 2 weeks.

In that time he has lost 8 pounds but most significantly his BP has dropped from 185/112 to 120/94 which is most definitely a step in the right direction. :)

He isn't taking any meds at the moment and keen to keep it that way but just wanted to post so that other newly diagnosed folk can see that it is possible to get positive results from low-carbing in quite a short space of time.

onwards and upwards ! (or downwards if you are talking stats)

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Well done you, and well done hubby. :)

Are his post meal rises improving? (the rise from before to after?) That is the best way of judging how well he is doing at the moment.

Sam50

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Well done you, and well done hubby. :)

Are his post meal rises improving? (the rise from before to after?) That is the best way of judging how well he is doing at the moment.
hi Bluetit it has taken me this long to convince Hubby that he should check his BG post eating. He maintained that it was only worth testing first thing in the morning before eating however to satisfy me, he did check 2 hours after lunch today and he was 10.3 and consequently felt euphoric as now, he can really see that the low carb diet is starting to work ! will keep on with the 'gentle nagging' ! x

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only