Should we (humans) be eating Carbohydrates ?

tubamanandy

It's a question I've often wondered about.

I'm no expert but from an evolutionary point of view, it's only been very recently that we've had carbs in our diets. I don't think our bodies actually need them - could it just be that some people's bodies can deal with them and some can't ?

Could do with some clarity on this from someone who has studied it in some detail.......just to put it out of my head

Mr_Pot

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Despite evidence to the contrary from watching The Flintstones, I am sure the Stone Age diet must have included fruit, berries and wild vegetables. Also gorillas and chimpanzees are largely vegetarian. The difference is more likely to be that our carbs are highly refined and have been developed to have a higher starch to fibre ratio.

Reactions: donnellysdogs

Mbaker

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Available fast foods in Supermarkets
Our bodies can make the 1 teaspoon of glucose we require to function, and the brain runs efficiently (some say better) on ketones.

I believe I read in evolutionary terms we have only had the modern grains / carbs etc approximately 1 day in our existence (please correct me if I am wrong).

We have for a longer time had low carb vegetables, meat, fish, nuts and previously just seasonal sweet fruit. Our bodies are setup to store fat for famine times, but this never comes, so with modern lifestyles and high carbs we just pile on fat.

Some of the population can handle higher carbs, but based on the number of overweight, obese and persons with pre-diabetic / diabetic numbers, I would say the modern amount of carbohydrates does not work for around 60 percent plus of humans over a mid term life (around 40 to 50 years - my opinion).

barrym

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin