Starbucks Latte with Soya Milk and sugar free syrups.

Redsnapper

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi all. Just been out and about when No1 child dragged me into Starbucks! Initially I assumed nothing here for me as I like a Latte.So asked the barista do you have lactose free milk.He said no sorry, but his girlfriend is type 1 and brings in her own, which is a good idea.Anyway he suggested soya milk which they have and also three sugar free syrups! Can't remember all the flavours but hazelnut was one of em.This is worth a try methinks.I don't like soya milk in tea, but in this case as if by magic it was better than my usual latte fix,really good.Didn't opt for syrup, as it was expensive enough anyway
So a real find. I reckon 200 ml of soya milk as it was a medium, so say 68 calories and say 1g carbs. As a newbie I stand to be corrected on those numbers as I am assuming it was unsweetened soya milk, just realised that eek.Will double check next time.I never buy cake or cookies there so didn't ask re low carb options.

More and more I am coming to the conclusion that people are ingenious and will find ways to get as close as they can to a pre diabetic experience without the carbs, as demonstrated by the recipes on this forum.Just gonna make oopsie bread now, BLT for breakfast!!!

Redsnapper

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Awwww nuts!!! Mebbe it's time to lobby a big outfit like Starbucks to change that then. With all the milk they get through every day in each outlet,surely a few cartons of unsweetened soya milk isn't a big ask???? They are doing sugar free syrups after all.
However if it was sweetened soya milk it looks like a few more calories and maybe 6g carbs, I can live with that once in a while.
Tested 6.7 before I went out and it's about 2 hrs 15 mins since I scoffed said coffee 6.3 so does not seem to have done too much harm.