Struggling on keto

Lawrencepa

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
So I've been doing keto for about 3 months now. I have cheated once every few weeks but now my pizza cravings have come back in full force. I'm really trying to hold out from getting one but I really don't want to cook. I had one last week aswell. Can I get away with having a pizza every week? I know it won't be keto if I do but can I at least lower my blood sugar if I was to have one carb day a week?

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I know you say you don’t want to cook but the Fathead Pizza really does hit the spot:
https://www.ditchthecarbs.com/fat-head-pizza/
Every time you say you’re planning to cheat, I just think you can’t cheat your body. I don’t know how much a weekly deviation from a low carb or keto diet will hurt, but personally I don’t want to risk it! Sorry but that’s just how I feel :oops:

Reactions: Grateful

Grateful

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Can I get away with having a pizza every week?

In my opinion, the literal answer is yes, if that is all you do, it is extremely unlikely that one pizza a week will make a difference. I cheat from time to time by drinking good beer, which is basically liquid carbs.

Eating carbs can create cravings for more carbs. That is the main issue. Also, it's a personality thing. Some people are very good at doing things "in moderation" and others not....

Good luck!

Edited to add: I forgot you said, "keto." Are you sure you are indeed keto (a very extreme diet)? If so, then, yes, a single pizza could conceivably kick you out of the ketogenic state. But in my opinion, a lot of people who say they are doing "keto" aren't testing to see if they are really keto, and are probably eating somewhat too many carbs for ketosis

Last edited:
Reactions: Rachox

Boo1979

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)