Sudden change in bread reaction

Canada_Mike

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi,
First off, I'm a newbie. I've had diabetes 2 for two years. Sudden I've had a dramatic change in bread reaction. If I eat one slice of toast or half a bagel (no jam) my mml goes to 10. I've been having toast for breakfast for ages, and this change is a puzzle. I take 2,000 mg of Glumetza daily.

Any ideas?

Michael

Oldvatr

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi,
First off, I'm a newbie. I've had diabetes 2 for two years. Sudden I've had a dramatic change in bread reaction. If I eat one slice of toast or half a bagel (no jam) my mml goes to 10. I've been having toast for breakfast for ages, and this change is a puzzle. I take 2,000 mg of Glumetza daily.

Any ideas?

Michael
Modern breads especially white flour breads generally have added sugar. They are considered as high GI load, and generally will cause bgl spikes. I have toast myself, If I have white bread, I spike badly, but I use a multi-seed loaf that hardly registers on my meter. I also use butter to lower the GI load, and this slows things down even further.

Winnie53

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Your diabetes is worsening because you're becoming more insulin resistant. Based on my readings and experience, your diabetes will continue to progress and worsen, eventually resulting in complications, with or without medication, until you change your diet.

Two diets appear to work: a whole foods, plant based foods only diet, low to no fat only (described in Neal Barnard, MD or Joel Fuhrman, MD books on diabetes) or a low carb, high (healthy) fat, moderate protein based diet (described in Richard Bernstein, MD, or Mark Hyman, MD books on diabetes). I use the latter diet. You can learn more about any of these authors on YouTube.