Technology to manage Type 1.

Saikoudaze

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi all,

I've had type 1 diabetes for over a decade now and just started on an insulin pump a few weeks ago.

Since then the whole world of how technology can help to manage diabetes has opened up to me. I can produce graphs, and make small adjustments much easier than I could previously.

What I wanted to spark a discussion about was, what technology do you guys use to manage your dm? I've heard of a wearable tech called fitbit that can monitor heart rate and activity, which would be great to match up to blood glucose readings and carbs to have a complete picture of my diabetes.

Does anyone else have any recommendations for applications or tech that they use?

Last edited by a moderator:

PaulinaB

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi! Welcome to the forum!

I'm a tech geek (work in IT), so I like to stay up-to-date with technology!
I use:
1) glucose meter (as anyone)
2) fitbit charge hr tracker - tracks activity, heart rate, steps, distance, etc
3) dexcom g4 cgm for continuous bg tracking
4) manually log insulin doses (though I get bored every now and then!)

I wrote myself a piece of software that puts it all together for me, creating graphs like this:
Screen Shot 2015-08-17 at 19.56.48.png

Shows my BG from CGM (black line), BG readings from meter (blue dots) and heart rate from fitbit (yellow-orange-red depending on level of hr), plus vertical lines mark insulin doses - N X for novorapid dose, L X for levemir dose.
I'm experimenting at looking at HR versus number of steps made to see which one has more obvious effect on BG.

The graph shows my readings from 2 weeks ago when I was eating carbs again. Horrible, as you can see. Since then I went back to LCHF and my levels are much better. Plus, almost no insulin doses (apart from Levemir).