Thinking about christmas

goose64

I'm starting to think about christmas , and whilst I wont miss sweets & alcohol too much I am dreading not being able to eat mince pies & cheese & crackers ( I know the cheese is no problem but it won't be the same without crackers) so I need to think about what treats I can have that will be as nice.

I'm a cook so thing don't need to be ready made

Fraddycat

have you tried parmesan thins? Sprinkle parmesan cheese onto a greased baking sheet, you can use cake rings to make them circular, then put it into the oven for a few minutes. The cheese crisps up and is really yummy, it really satisfies my crispy/savory craving.

There are loads of recipes on here and you have plenty of time for research. Just put what you fancy into the search bar and I am sure things will come up!

BioHaZarD

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Nipped into tesco today and they got isle out with Christmas stuff already, shocking.

tree-peony

Ryvita Wholegrain Crackerbreads are only 3.5g carb each and don't seem to affect me much at all. AND they're very crunchy :)

paragliderpete

Hi I find that a Mince pie with plenty of double cream, followed by a coffee with cream and a small glass of port and i can get away with my bm's increasing by about 1.5mmol. I don't think if it went up even more that it would make much difference though.
We work hard all year controling our condition , I see it that we are allowed a week off at christmas, just don't go silly all at once.
With regards to the mince pie etc, I would not have one if my bm's were over 5, so even if it goes up more than anticipated it's still only going up to the low 7's. Just be sensible.

Cheers

MaryJ

It's gonna creep up on us, so I for one am glad of the reminder.

Last year was my first as a diabetic and as I was only diagnosed on 14th dec my resolve was sky high. not one chocolate past my lips. Not one crisp or pringle or pastry item.