Type1and thyroid trouble

Kitty24

Hi I'm new at this but was directed here as my son who is 11 yrs has type 1 and under active thyroid . He has put on 3stone in the 10mths since being diagnosed not sure how to stop him putting more weight on.

elainechi

hi. would it help if he reduced his carbs and thus his insulin too. my daughter was told eat what you like as long as you give insulin to cover food. not good to a carb addict. so now we lower carb and she eats more protein and fat and lost a few pounds. so no chips. pasta or rice or tiny portions.

qlso make sure you contact the sen co at secondary school. the best person to know when a child has special needs x

Riesenburg

Dislikes
Doctors who know less about diabetes and endocrinology than their patients.
Greetings Kitty24,

First thing I would do is ensure he is getting the thyroid problems treated, it will have a massive impact on his weight gaining and his diabetes. If memory serves me right the drug used is called T3 (chemical name is triiodothyronine), it basically replaces the hormones generated by the thyroid. Higher levels of T3 should cause fat loss in and of itself. For the diabetes side of things trying to keep the sugar levels in the normal range is best, since excess sugars are usually stored as fat. Other than that lots of exercise!

Hope that helps,
Frankie

shop

Riesenburg said:
Greetings Kitty24,

First thing I would do is ensure he is getting the thyroid problems treated, it will have a massive impact on his weight gaining and his diabetes. If memory serves me right the drug used is called T3 (chemical name is triiodothyronine), it basically replaces the hormones generated by the thyroid. Higher levels of T3 should cause fat loss in and of itself. For the diabetes side of things trying to keep the sugar levels in the normal range is best, since excess sugars are usually stored as fat. Other than that lots of exercise!

Hope that helps,
Frankie