Uncontrolled blood glucose levels

JenMH

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi, I am new to all of this, last week I was found to have a blood glucose level of 35 point something. I had to go to hospital where I was given metformin 2 grams a day. They gave me a testing machine and told me the hospital diabetic consultant will be in touch. My blood sugars are ranging between 13 and 28 plus. As the days go on, it's getting higher and higher, now only a very rare low teens test. Exactly how bad is this? It makes no difference what time of day or if I've eaten or not. I'm recording everything. I really don't know what to do.
Any help will be great.
Jen

Goonergal

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Welcome to the forum @JenMH

I'm tagging @daisy1 who will be along with some useful information for newbies.

Are you only taking Metformin or are you on any other medication? If it's just the Metformin you might want to think about eating a low carb diet. Aside from sugar, this means being careful about breakfast cereal, rice, pasta, potatoes and bread. Cutting these out, or significantly reducing them will have a very positive impact on your blood sugar levels.

Great that you have a meter. If you test right before you eat and then 2 hours after the first bite, you'll get an idea of which foods affect you most - you're aiming for a rise of no more than 2mmols after 2 hours.

Do ask as many questions as you like- we're a friendly bunch on here and you'll get lots of support and advice.

Art Of Flowers

Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only